Bacon, Grape, and Broccoli Salad (Whole30 Compliant)

 

018 (4)

You know how some things just taste amazing together, even when they don’t necessarily seem like they would?  This is one of those things…at least to me.  Don’t get me wrong–there’s nothing in here that I immediately think, “ew, that won’t go with everything else.”  It’s the texture of raw broccoli that doesn’t seem like it should go.  To be fair, I don’t like raw broccoli because of the texture and how it always gets stuck in my teeth.  Anyway, don’t think about trees growing in your mouth–think about how this is going to be DELICIOUS!

 

A word about two of the ingredients: first, mayo.  If you are still eating store-bought mayo, STOP IT!  You really should be making your own, and it takes less than 10 minutes.  One of the blogs I frequent, Nom Nom Paleo, has a great tutorial if you’ve never made it.  You can use either of the oils suggested or use what I use–Extra-Light TASTING olive oil.  Makre SURE it is extra-light TASTING.  I cannot say that enough.  TASTING.  Not extra-virgin.  Not virgin whateverness.  Extra.  Light.  Tasting.  Just trust me on this one, okay?

 

How to Make Mayo, Paleo-Style

 

Second ingredient: bacon.  On a Whole30, bacon is somewhat taboo.  This is mostly because if you are shopping at your local grocery store, it is almost impossible to find compliant bacon.  Go ahead, look at your bacon ingredients.  It’ll tell you that it is processed with SUGAR.  Also, it likely has added nitrites, nitrates, gluten, lactose, and MSG.  Yes, they use all of those things to process bacon.  To be perfectly honest, I still ate bacon (and no, not compliant bacon) during my Whole30s; however, it was two or three times throughout the entire month, so I didn’t beat myself up over it.  I’m eventually going to try my hand at making my own bacon, but first I have to find somewhere around here that sells quality pork belly.  In the mean time, if you want to buy compliant bacon, here is a link for you:

 

Whole30 Compliant Bacon

 

Now that you’ve made the mayo (you’ve made it, right?) and made your decision on your personal bacon manifesto, here is the salad, full of deliciousness!

 

Bacon, Grape, and Broccoli Salad

3 small (or 2 large) heads of broccoli, chopped into small florets (you can chop the stalks too if wanted)

2 cups of red grapes, cut in half

8-10 slices of bacon, cooked to crispy and roughly shopped

1/2 red onion, chopped

1/2 cup almonds, sliced or chopped

1/2 cup pecans, roughly chopped (optional)

1 1/2 cups mayo (the delicious stuff you just made!)

1/4 cup + 1 tsp lemon juice

sea salt

dill

 

1.–In small bowl, mix mayo with lemon juice, sea salt, and dill (okay, remember, I don’t measure…I probably used about 2 tsp of dried dill).  Set aside.

2.–In a large bowl, toss broccoli, grapes, bacon, onion, and nuts.  Pour the mayo mixture over the broccoli mixture and toss until well-mixed.

3.–EAT!!!  I’ve kept this in the fridge for up to a week and it was still good.  We finish it by that point, so I don’t know exactly how long it lasts!

 

9 thoughts on “Bacon, Grape, and Broccoli Salad (Whole30 Compliant)

  1. theredelm

    Reblogged this on The Red Elm and commented:
    I am really not into the whole paleo thing but sometimes I see recipes like this and I have to try them anyway because they just look soooo good. File this under Totally Unrelated to my avocation but it’s a good reblog 😉
    Thanks for sharing, Chiodo80!

  2. Joshua Clay

    Doubled the recipe with one modification: Used 1 cup of mayo (co-op purchased avocado oil mayo). Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

