Steaks with Cilantro Sauce (Whole30 Compliant)

 

steak w cilantro sauce

Today is the first day of our third Whole30!  I decided to kick it off with a bang–steak with cilantro sauce over herb garden spring greens.  My favorite part about this meal was actually the sauce…which I will forever be using as a salad dressing.  It’s truly delicious…like pesto (without the basil) by itself, and like a green goddess dressing if you add in some homemade mayonnaise (you ARE making your own mayo now, right?  RIGHT?).

As with all of my Whole30 first days, the day has been filled with motivation and excitement.  Personally, sometime around day three I start to wonder why I’m doing this…again.  By day 7-10 or so, it’s smooth sailing.  That being said, we’ve done enough of these now that my “first week slugs,” as I call them, are mostly non-existent.  I remember them, though.  The first week of my first Whole30, I told all of my friends not to be shocked if they saw me on the news for having killed someone to steal their doughnut.  It never actually happened, but you get the point.

I’ll try to post all of the different recipes that we eat during this Whole30.  I tend to make the same 10-15 recipes over and over as far as dinner goes, so maybe I’ll do some more experimenting this time around.  As always, lunches consist of dinner leftovers and/or eggs.  If you’ve never done a Whole30, I strongly urge you to try one–it’s life changing!

Grilled Steaks with Cilantro Sauce

Serves 4

1 C fresh parsley

1 C fresh cilantro

1/2 C fresh mint

4 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1 C olive oil

1/3 C red wine vinegar

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1/4 tsp cayenne

2 pounds flat iron or top sirloin beef steaks

1.– Put herbs, garlic, salt, and pepper in food processor.  Pulse until herbs are chopped.  Gradually add the olive oil, vinegar, lemon juice, and cayenne.  Process until blended.  At this point, I put it in a jar and stick it in the refrigerator.  Truth be told, I doubled the recipe so I’d have a lot left over for salad dressing!

2.– Sprinkle steaks with salt and pepper on both sides.  If using a grill, grill (covered) over medium heat for 6-8 minutes on each side.  If using a broiler, broil 3-5 minutes on each side.  I found out when I made this tonight that our broiler runs WAAAAAAAY hot, so the steak turned out medium/medium-well instead of my preferred “barely dead,” but it was still good…so who cares!  Let the meat rest 5 or so minutes, cut into 1/4″ slices, and serve with sauce.

If you want to make this how I did, I mixed greens, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, carrots, and tangerine slices.  I loved the tangerine flavor with the cilantro sauce so much that next time I’m going to juice a tangerine over the salad before adding the steak and sauce!

3 thoughts on “Steaks with Cilantro Sauce (Whole30 Compliant)

Leave a Reply

