Herb Roasted Chicken (Whole30 Compliant)

 

chicken w pomegranate sauce

 

Unless you’re reading PALEO magazine, there aren’t many magazines that have paleo-friendly recipes…and let’s face it, many of the recipes in PALEO seem to focus on the baked goods, which I’m not all that interested in.  I get frustrated because there are SO MANY mainstream magazines that have delicious looking recipes…none of which are paleo-friendly.  While I was visiting my grandma last week (who just so happens to basically horde magazines), I went through all of her magazines and picked out no fewer than 50 recipes that looked good to me.  Then…I started dissecting the recipes and replacing junk ingredients with their paleo counterparts.

 

This particular one was some sort of a flour-and-bread-crumb-coated baked chicken situation.  This time I made it naked; however, next time I may experiment with dusting the chicken with almond meal.  So, do what you will with that information.  This is such a simple dish: quick to put together, a relatively quick cook, and super tasty!  I tossed some vegetables in with the chicken (sweet potatoes, carrots, red onion, mushrooms, etc).  It could have been a one-pot meal, honestly, but I made a salad with it.  And the dressing for my salad?  Remember the cilantro sauce I made HERE?  I took about a quarter cup of it, mixed it with a heaping quarter cup of homemade mayonnaise and a splash of apple cider vinegar.  Voila!  Dressing!

 

This was our dinner tonight…day four of our current Whole30.  My energy has started coming back today, so I’m glad that the Whole30 “slugs” aren’t lasting very long this time around!

 

Herb Roasted Chicken

Serves 4

1 pound mushrooms, halved

1 small red onion, cut in wedges

1 sweet potato, cubed

4-5 carrots, cut in stew-sized chunks

2 Tbsp olive oil (plus extra for rubbing on chicken)

1 tsp. fresh thyme leaves

4 chicken leg quarters

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp pepper

 

1.– Preheat oven to 450

2.– In oven-safe skillet or roasting pan, place mushrooms, red onion, sweet potatoes, carrots, thyme, and 2 Tbsp olive oil.  Put chicken on top of vegetables.  Rub chicken skin with extra olive oil, then sprinkle with salt and pepper.

3.– Roast 35-45 minutes, or until cooked through.

Leave a Reply

