Bacon-Topped Pork Meatloaf (Whole30 Compliant)

 

pork meat loaf

I found this recipe over at one of my favorite paleo blogs, Nom Nom Paleo.  I visit there frequently looking for “foodspiration” when planning our dinner menus.  Now, I don’t have any need to hide vegetables in food–everyone–including Isak–is fine with eating vegetables.  That being said, I LOVE adding extra vegetables to anything I make.  It makes it more filling, more satisfying, and adds extra vitamins–SCORE!  My one pitfall in this recipe was the draining of the spinach.  No matter how much I squeeze and press, there are still (what seems like) gallons and gallons of water that just keeps on a’comin’!  Next time, I’ll start pressing it about a week before I make it LOL!  The extra liquid didn’t ruin it or anything–it just turned out a little more crumbly than it should have.  Still yummy–just crumbly!

Next time I make it, I plan on reducing the amount of spinach by half and replacing the other half with shredded zucchini and/or sweet potato.  It was REALLY tasty as is; however, the husband mentioned the spinach taste being a little strong (which I tend to agree with).  The bacon topping…WONDERFUL!  And the tomato sauce was the perfect complement to all the flavors.  After I try the different vegetables, I’ll post this again with the amended recipe!

Bacon-Topped Pork Meatloaf

1 pound frozen chopped spinach

1 Tbsp butter/ghee/coconut oil

1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped

1/2 pound mushrooms, finely chopped

1/4 C coconut milk

1/2 C celery, finely diced

1/2 C Italian parsley

1 pound ground pork

1/4 C coconut flour

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tsp salt

1  1/2 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2 eggs

3-5 bacon slices

tomato sauce, warmed (optional)

1.– Preheat oven to 350.  Microwave frozen spinach in a covered bowl for 3-4 minutes.  Put in colander and press out all excess liquid (this is where the liquid multiplies…I swear the amount doubles every time you press some of it out)

2.– Heat butter over medium heat in skillet.  Add onions, mushrooms, and a little salt and pepper.  Saute until soft (this took me about 4-5 minutes).

3.– Blend coconut milk, parsley, and celery until a puree forms.

4.– In bowl, put pork, spinach, coconut flour, garlic, salt, pepper, and nutmeg.  Mix with hands until combined.  Add puree, beaten eggs, and mushroom mixture.  Use hands to combine and transfer to an ungreased loaf pan.  Layer bacon to cover the top of the meatloaf.  Only use one (or two, at the most) layer.  You don’t want crispy bacon on top of soggy bacon!

5.– Bake for 70 minutes then broil for 3-5 minutes (I like the bacon a little more crispy).  Serve with tomato sauce and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

