Twisted Tuna Salad (Whole30 Compliant)

 

Twisted Tuna

I don’t know if you’re like this, but occasionally I feel like eating something, but I doctor up the way I typically make it.  I love tuna salad, but my favorite thing about the tuna salad is having it on a piece of toast, topped with a ring of pineapple and a slice of cheese, and then broiled for a few minutes until the cheese is bubbly.  Well, the tuna salad and the pineapple are the only parts of what I just mentioned that are considered paleo.  Besides that, I don’t have any pineapple (we ran out) at the moment.  There are those of you who would say, “so put it in a lettuce wrap!”  Yeah…I’m not huge on lettuce wraps.  Sure, I LOVE them from PF Chang’s, but they aren’t my favorite thing and they sure aren’t a substitute for tuna on a thick, crusty piece of homemade bread.  Not paleo fake bread…THE.  REAL.  THING.

 

But I still wanted tuna salad…so I went to doctoring it up in order to make it more filling and more satisfying than plain tuna over spinach.  I looked at everything I had in the refrigerator and pretty much pulled out everything that might be good together.  This is where I LOVE experimenting in the kitchen.  A general rule of thumb for kitchen experimentation for those of you new to this activity:  if it smells good together, it will taste good together.  This probably isn’t true for every single thing…but for 99.99% of food items, that rule will apply.  On the flip side, if it doesn’t smell good together, it won’t taste good together.  Why is this?  The majority of what you’re tasting is actually what you’re smelling.  Your tongue has very little to do with it, other than identifying the tastes as sweet/salty/etc.

 

So go get your butt in the kitchen and whip up some experimental food!  Until you’re ready to try that, here is my yummy-ness that transpired tonight!

 

Twisted Tuna Salad

Serves 4

2 cans Albacore tuna (I forget how many ounces each can is…it’s about twice the size of a single can)

1 celery stalk, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

1/3 C chopped walnuts and pecans (use whatever nuts you want–but tonight I had extra walnuts and pecans around)

1/3 C dried cranberries

1/2 Granny Smith apple, diced

1 medium carrot, peeled and diced (or shredded)

1/3 C chopped cilantro

1/4 C MAYO

2 Tbsp dijon

1/4 tsp ground mustard

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp citrus zest

sliced avocado to garnish

 

1.– Clean/drain/chop everything but avocado

2.– Dump everything (except avocado) in a bowl

3.– Mix everything up

4.– Serve on a plate/over greens/whatever and top with sliced avocado.  I didn’t use any “dressing” for this–I squeezed the juice of a tangerine over everything once I put it on the plate.

 

* As a side note, the picture does not include avocado because we didn’t have any left.  As soon as I took a bite, I immediately said, “this needs avocado.”  So do it!

Leave a Reply

