Maple Mustard Chicken (Primal)

 

maple mustard chicken

This is a recipes that blew. my. mind.  I got the original recipe from PaleOMG; however, once I started cooking, I realized that I didn’t have as much of the ingredients as I thought I did, and some of them I didn’t have at all.  What did that mean for our dinner?  Recipe overhaul to make a similar dish out of what we had in the kitchen!

 

So I say that the recipe blew my mind…and someday I’ll try the original recipe when I remember to replace the ingredients!  Until then, the similar–yet sorta different–recipe blew my mind.  As an added bonus, if you make some extra marinade (and obviously, don’t use it with the raw chicken), it makes a FANTASTIC salad dressing!  I just added about a Tbsp of almond milk to it and BAM!  Instant salad dressing!

 

Maple Mustard Chicken (Primal and Paleo)

Serves 4-6

1/3 C spicy brown mustard

1 Tbsp maple syrup

2 Tbsp raw honey

2 Tbsp Dijon mustard

1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

2 tsp coconut aminos

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 garlic cloves, minced

6-8 chicken breasts or thighs (I used boneless skinless breasts and cut them in half–mostly because they cooked more quickly and are easier to serve to the toddler)

1/4 tsp sea salt

1 Tbsp fat of your choice

 

1.–Combine brown spicy mustard through the garlic cloves in a small bowl.  Whisk until creamy.  Add half of the mixture to a zip-lock bag–reserve the rest of the marinade in fridge.  Add chicken to the bag and mush it around to coat the chicken.  Chill for at least two hours (I chilled ours for 8 hours–DELICIOUS)

2.–Preheat large skillet on medium-high heat and add a tbsp or so of fat.  Remove chicken from bag and sprinkle with sea salt.  Put chicken in skillet to cook–with the chicken breast halves, this took about 4-5 minutes per side.

3.–Serve on top of veggies with reserved mustard mixture–the reserved mixture is what I used for salad dressing.  Chop up some greens, add some fruit and veggies, and toss with mustard mixture.  Put a pile of greens on your plate, toss some chicken on top, and there’s your meal!

Leave a Reply

