Asian Meatballs (Primal/Paleo)

 

Asian Meatballs

I have this weird fear of organ meat.  You know, the stuff that’s REALLY GOOD FOR YOU.  I think it feels weird to touch when it’s raw…I think that prepping some organs makes your kitchen look like a remake of a scene from Rosemary’s Baby…and liver…oh liver.  It always smells SO good to me when it’s cooking.  Like, delicious.  So I try a bite…and within two chews, I’m looking for a napkin and spitting it out.  It’s the texture.  The texture of liver in my mouth makes me want to hurl.  Not just polite vomiting…we’re talking full-on Exorcist.

 

I decided last week that I’m going to conquer my fear of organ meat–and maybe even learn to like it!  I made a trip out to GRASSLAND OASIS to get some meat this week.  If you live in the area and haven’t tried their products, you should seriously consider it!  (As an added bonus, when we went out to the farm to pick up the meat, we got to walk all over and see a bunch of animals!  Isak had SO much fun…and promptly took a four-hour nap when we got home)  They have a high demand for organ meat, so it’s apparently pretty hard to get.  But they did have a small lamb heart left and I decided that this would be the perfect piece to start with!  On the way home I was thinking about how I could hide it in my food so I wouldn’t notice it.  I know what you’re thinking.

“But Lauren, if you want to learn to like it, why would you hide it?”

Baby steps, my friends.  Baby steps.  I decided that meatballs would be the perfect starter dish.  Not just any meatballs…Asian meatballs.  The kind with so many ingredients that I would never notice heart in the mix!

 

SUCCESS!

 

Asian Meatballs (Primal/Paleo)

Serves 4

1 pound ground beef

1/3-1/2 pound lamb heart (I sliced off the meaty parts and ran them through the food processor)

2 tsp sesame oil

1/4 pound diced/shredded mushrooms (again with the processor, but with the shredding blade)

1 shredded carrot

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 egg

3 tsp minced garlic

1/2 C think-sliced scallion

1 minced shallot

2 Tbsp sesame seeds

 

SAUCE

2/3 C hoisin sauce (there are a ton of recipes for paleo hoisin sauce online)

1/4 C rice vinegar

2 minced garlic cloves

2 Tbsp coconut aminos

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp ground ginger

 

1.–Preheat oven to 400.  In large bowl, mix meatball ingredients until well-combined.  Shape into 1.5″ meatballs and place on lined baking sheet.  Bake 10-15 minutes or until golden on outside and no longer pink inside.

2.–While baking, whisk together all sauce ingredients until blended.  Pour sauce over meatballs when finished.

 

* If you want to, these freeze well.  Freeze them after forming into the meatballs (I just put the whole sheet in the freezer).  Once frozen, transfer them to another container…like a Zip-loc bag.  If you are baking them from frozen, they take more like 20-30 minutes to cook.

 

Leave a Reply

