BBQ Pork Ham Roast (Primal and Paleo)

 

BBQ pork ham roast

Before getting this order of meat from GRASSLAND OASIS, I don’t think I had ever heard of a pork ham roast.  Well, I had heard it called a “picnic ham,” but I had never tried it before and didn’t know that they were the same thing.  When I hear the word “ham,” I think of the pink blob covered in sugary substances that’s cooked for many different holidays.  I don’t particularly like ham (except for the crunchy, sugary goodness that’s baked onto the skin…what can I say?  It’s like pig candy)…but this is not traditional ham, so I gave it a go!

 

Essentially, this is a bone-in pork roast that’s from the part of the pig that is traditionally used for ham.  Major difference?  Ham is cured, this is not.  As a person from Kansas City, if you give me pork, I definitely know what to do with it!  What did I decide on tonight?  A basic barbecue glaze, baked, and quick broiled at the end.  It turned out delicious!

 

BBQ Pork Ham Roast (Primal and Paleo)

Serves 4-6

2-3 pound pork ham roast/picnic ham/fresh ham (these are all essentially the same thing)

salt and pepper

3-4 Tbsp Dijon mustard (or other mustard of your choice)

1-ish C BBQ SAUCE

1-2 Tbsp cooking fat

 

1.– Preheat oven to 350.  Line a baking dish with aluminum foil (for easy cleanup)

2.– Rinse ham roast and pat dry with paper towels.  Salt and pepper however much you like on your pork roasts (I use my fingers to disperse salt…so I have no idea what my measurements are for this part)

3.– Heat large skillet to medium-high heat with fat (I use Kerrygold butter).  Brush half of Dijon over both sides of roast.  Sear meat in heated pan for about 1 minute per side.  If you want to get a nice crisp fat piece, score the fat first and render it for a minute or so before taking the roast out of the pan.

4.– Remove roast from pan and brush with remaining dijon.  Pour 3/4 of the BBQ sauce over the roast and brush it around a bit.  Cook for about 45 minutes to an hour (this will depend on your roast size and your oven–you want the internal temp to be 160).  Brush with remaining BBQ sauce and broil until the sauce gets sticky and thick (my broiler takes something like 11 days to preheat, so I just turned on the broiler and put the meat under it for about 5-8 minutes while it was heating)

Leave a Reply

