Lamb Ribs (Whole30 Compliant)

 

lamb ribs 1

As you might remember, I have recently fallen in love with a grown-up version of CREAMY WILD MUSHROOM SOUP.  The last time I made this soup, I sauteed the mushrooms like normal…tonight I decided to basically flash fry them before adding the onions and such.  You’ll notice that tonight’s soup is slightly darker (also not as creamy…I’m still figuring out my new immersion blender).  When I cooked the mushrooms, I made the pan HOT, tossed the fat in, and then put in the mushrooms for a shorter amount of time.  Cooking them this way really gives them a meaty flavor, which I really enjoy.  Anyway, I wanted mushroom soup tonight after I got a pound of creminis at the farmers market today…but I also wanted meat.  I still had the lamb ribs in the freezer from GRASSLAND OASIS, so I decided to thaw those and see what we could do with them!

 

Many people like to french the ribs…as far as I can tell, this is strictly for aesthetics.  NO WAY am I wasting all that good meat!  I mean, lamb ribs don’t have that much meat to begin with…why would I get rid of half of it and turn them into lollipops?  So I decided to cook them almost identically to how I cook any other ribs (low and slow), but with flavors more complementary to the mushroom soup.  It all turned out fantastically!  You could also do these on the grill…but remember, we live on a college campus.  Yes, there is a grill behind our building–no, I’m not going to use it.  I’m pretty sure the students use it as a trash can anyway.  The part that I wasn’t sure about was the sauce I brushed the ribs with at the end–it’s a lemon mustard sauce.  *shrug*  It sounded good while I was cooking.  Also…it was my favorite part.  So don’t leave it out!

 

Lamb Ribs

Serves 2-4

2 pounds lamb ribs (rack)

8-ish cloves of garlic, minced or put through a press (I put it through a press so it would get more liquid out with the garlic)

2 Tbsp minced sage (or 2 tsp dried)

2 Tbsp minced rosemary (or 2 tsp dried)

2 tsp olive oil

1/2 to 2/3 C liquid (broth or water–either will get the job done)

2 Tbsp mustard (whatever kind you want–I prefer Dijon, but I have yet to find a Dijon around here that is Whole30 compliant)

Juice of 1 lemon

1 tsp coconut aminos

salt and pepper

 

1.– Preheat oven to 225.  Rinse lamb and pat dry with paper towel.  Sprinkle with desired amount of salt and pepper.  In small bowl, work garlic, rosemary, sage, and olive oil into a thick pasty-type mixture.  Rub on both sides of the ribs.  Place in baking dish or roasting pan, pour your liquid around the meat (you don’t want to rinse the herbs off the meat), cover with foil or lid, and bake 1-2 hours (if your ribs are thick, they could take longer–mine took about 90 minutes).

2.– In small bowl, whisk mustard, lemon juice, and coconut aminos (the aminos don’t add much flavor–they just cut the tartness of the lemon and mustard).  Remove meat from oven and turn on broiler.  Instead of pouring off the liquid, I just put the ribs on a foil-lined baking sheet at this point.  Our kitchen is small and it was easier this way.  Brush the meat with the mustard mixture and put ribs under the broiler for 4-6 minutes–basically until it starts to brown and you hear a little crackling.

lamb ribs 2

Bonan Apetiton!

 

Leave a Reply

