Slow-Cooker Beef Ribs (Primal/Paleo)

 

beef ribs

One of my last cuts left from our first GRASSLAND OASIS experience were beef ribs.  You have never eaten beef until you’ve had it from pasture-raised cows.  It tastes nothing like the corn-fed “beef” at the grocery store.  Pasture-raised beef has a much more delicate, subtle flavor.  It doesn’t scream, “OH MY GOD!  I ATE CORN AND ANIMAL BY-PRODUCTS MY WHOLE LIFE!”  In fact, I told JR tonight that if someone set a piece of this beef in front of me, didn’t label it, and told me to guess what it was, I would have guessed something like…well, there’s nothing to compare it to.  It’s like a more delicate version of bison.  To be clear, I’ve had pasture-raised beef before…but never was the flavor of the beef so pronounced (mostly because before it was covered in barbecue sauce or in a stew).

 

I decided to see what I could do with these in the slow-cooker today.  Keep in mind that if you make this recipe using mainstream grocery store beef, your cooking times will be a bit different.  Pasture-raised beef has a shorter cook time (I’m still getting used to the difference in cook time).  So…my times given are based on pasture-raised beef.  I’ll give suggestions for corn-fed beef, but know that I haven’t actually tested those times–I’m just going based on about what I think it would be.

 

Slow-Cooker Beef Ribs

Serves 2-4

2-3 pounds beef ribs (bone-in)

2 Tbsp kosher sea salt

4 Tbsp coconut palm sugar

2 tsp paprika

2 tsp coriander

1 tsp chili powder

ground black pepper to taste

2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

3-4 Tbsp raw honey

ground black pepper

 

1.– In small bowl, mix kosher sea salt, coconut palm sugar, paprika, coriander, chili powder, and black pepper.  Mix well.  Rub liberally on ribs, wrap in plastic wrap, and chill for at least two hours.

2.– Put ribs in slow-cooker (if your slow-cooker isn’t big enough to fit them in one piece, feel free to cut them into 2-3 rib chunks and pile them in).  Pour 1-2 C water or beef broth around the bottom of the slow-cooker.  Turn on low and cook away for 2-3 hours (you want the internal temp to be 145).  Pull out of the slow-cooker and let rest 10 minutes while you preheat the broiler and line a baking sheet with foil.

3.– In small bowl, whisk apple cider vinegar, honey, and pepper.  After the 10-minute resting period, I cut the ribs into single pieces (feel free to leave them all together if you want–I just think it’s easier this way).  Brush the ribs liberally with the apple cider vinegar mixture.  Sprinkle the tops of the ribs with a large pinch of coconut palm sugar (you want a thin layer across the ribs to get a little crunchy under the broiler).

4.–Place under broiler for 5-6 minutes.  Let rest for a few minutes and serve hot!  As an aside, the apple cider vinegar mixture whisked with some olive oil makes a great salad dressing.  Dress it up with a few crushed lavender buds!

Leave a Reply

