Paleo Pork Breakfast Gravy (Whole30 Compliant)

 

dinner on the fly

I was going to make SALMON CAKES tonight, but then I decided that I didn’t want them (mostly because I didn’t have any made, which means I was going to be making a double batch…and I just didn’t feel like it).  The only thing I had thawed in the fridge as far as meat goes was ground pork.  When I think of ground pork, I think of pre-paleo when I would make delicious, buttery, fluffy biscuits and use the pork to make gravy.  I’m drooling a little bit just thinking about it…but I don’t know that 15 minutes of that taste would be worth the hours of headaches and bloating.  I’m not going to enter the work of paleo baking anytime soon–the few paleo baked goods that I’ve tried were pretty gross, so biscuits were definitely out.  However, I decided to make the gravy part of that and just dump it over some scrambled eggs!

 

For the scrambled eggs, I sauteed half of a chopped onion and a handful of thick-sliced cremini mushrooms.  I whisked five eggs, chopped about a cup of fresh spinach, and sliced a handful of grape tomatoes.  Add the spinach to the mushroom mixture and let wilt for a minute or two.  Add the eggs and cook, adding tomatoes at the end.  Salt, pepper, whatever seasonings you want.  Voila, the eggs are done.

 

Paleo Pork Breakfast Gravy

Serves 2-4

1 pound ground pork

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbsp arrowroot starch or coconut flour

1 can coconut milk

salt

pepper

sage

rosemary

 

1.– Heat large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add pork and cook, breaking up into small pieces as it’s cooking.  When pork is almost cooked, add onions and garlic, stirring until soft.

2.–Sprinkle arrowroot or coconut over meat.  Stir until starch has absorbed the fat and soaked in.  Add half of the can of coconut milk and stir slowly until the liquid has stopped changing consistency (this will take a minute or two).  Add in the other half of the coconut milk and stir.

3.– Put in whatever seasonings you want to use.  I use salt, pepper, dried sage, and rosemary.  Keep adding and tasting until you get the flavor you want.  I probably added a couple tsp of salt, 20-ish turns of pepper, a tsp of sage, and a tsp of rosemary.

When serving this, I put a pile of scrambled eggs on each plate, spooned some gravy on the eggs, and topped with a couple sliced grape tomatoes.  Delicious!

 

One thought on “Paleo Pork Breakfast Gravy (Whole30 Compliant)

Leave a Reply

