Simple Grilled Chicken (Whole30 Compliant)

 

grilled chicken

So, I haven’t posted in just over a month because I somehow injured my knee and ended up having to have surgery.  Not fun.  I officially start physical therapy tomorrow, so we’ll hope the best for that!  All of the damage I’ve had in that knee leads me to believe that there’s lots of extra gelatin in my future!  I’ll definitely be making some more bone broth this week (and with a boat load of bones that I have from our favorite local farm, GRASSLAND OASIS).  As a side note: if you are in the general vicinity of San Antonio and looking for some paleo, primal, AND Whole30 compliant bacon…their’s is DELICIOUS!  Seriously…life-changing bacon.

All that being said, I haven’t been able to cook in almost a month.  I’m just now getting to the point where I can stand up (relatively comfortably) for enough time to cook…but last night I didn’t have to!  THE HUBBY made dinner for me!  We live on a university campus, so we don’t have a grill…but I love the quickness of being able to grill a piece of meat.  Enter: our newest kitchen purchase, the T-FAL OPTIGRILL.  We’ve been playing around with it for the last couple weeks, and it seems to work really well so far.  I’ll let you know later on if we end up hating it–but for now, we love it.

 

Simple Grilled Chicken (Whole30 Compliant)

Chicken leg quarters, rinsed and patted dry

Salt

Pepper

Ghee

 

1.- Preheat your grill.  Rinse chicken and pat dry with towels.  Slide a chunk or two of ghee under the chicken skin.  Sprinkle leg quarters with salt and pepper as desired.

2.- Slap those babies on the grill and cook until done!  (You want the internal temperature to be 165)

 

On the T-Fal, these take a little longer to cook because they aren’t an even thickness and they contain bones.  Just watch the temperature of the thickest part of the chicken.  For us, it took about 20-25 minutes for the chicken to be done all the way through.

Leave a Reply

