Buffalo Ranch Chicken Stuffed Peppers (Whole30 Compliant)

 

buffalo ranch chicken stuffed peppers

I’m not a fan of stuffed peppers.  It’s a general rule to which I adhere.  I think it’s because most people stuff their peppers with some combination of ground meat and rice…and those are not textures of tastes that I enjoy together.  Call me weird…I just don’t like it.  I do, however, like buffalo chicken…so I figured I’d try out the recipe I saw last week for this.  I changed it up a bit, but the general idea of the recipe is still there.

I have to be honest with this post: I still didn’t enjoy them as much as I thought I would…but not because of the flavors.  Apparently I just don’t like the texture of baked peppers.  The innards were delicious and I ate them all.  I tried some of the pepper, I really did!  But I didn’t like that part.  Oh well, maybe I’ll try it again at some point.

 

Buffalo Ranch Chicken Stuffed Peppers

Serves 4 (with 4 peppers)

3-4 chicken breasts (basically one breast per pepper)

3-4 peppers of your chosen color

1 medium onion, sliced

1 tsp chives

1 tsp dill

1 tsp parsley

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

salt and pepper

3 Tbsp butter + 4 tsp butter

1/2 C Frank’s RedHot Hot Sauce

 

1.- Preheat oven to 350.  Mix together chives, dill, parsley, garlic powder, and onion powder.

2.- Lay chicken on a parchment-lined baking sheet.  Place onion slices around and on the chicken.  Salt and pepper chicken and onions.  Sprinkle half of the mixed herbs over the chicken and onions.  Place 1 tsp of butter on top of each chicken breast.  Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.

3.- Melt 3 Tbsp of butter in a saucepan over medium-low heat.  Once melted, add hot sauce and whisk until mostly combined.  Add in the rest of the herb mixture and continue whisking until incorporated.

4.- When chicken is cooked, chop it and onions into small cubes.  Add to the hot sauce mixture and stir to coat.  Fill each pepper with the chicken mixture and set in a baking pan (I put each one in a ramekin so they wouldn’t fall over).  Bake 30-40 minutes.  Serve with guacamole.

 

Guacamole

3 avocados, flesh mashed

2 Roma tomatoes, chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

1/2 C chopped cilantro

2 cloves garlic, minced (or 1 clove if it’s large)

Juice of 2 limes

salt and pepper

1.- Mix tomatoes, onion, cilantro, and garlic in a bowl.

2.- Mash avocado in a separate bowl.  Add lime juice, salt, and pepper, and stir to combine.

3.- Mix everything together.

 

4 thoughts on “Buffalo Ranch Chicken Stuffed Peppers (Whole30 Compliant)

Leave a Reply

