A Bowl of Autumn (Whole30 Compliant)

Acorn Squash Soup

There are lots of autumn fruits and vegetables hitting the stores right now, which I love.  I’m in San Antonio, so we don’t actually have what most of the United States considers autumn until mid- to late-November.  That part is really sad to me because autumn is my FAVORITE season.  Oh well, I live in the land of perpetual hot.  Anyway, the autumn produce was calling my name, so I loaded up.  (on a side note, today I made this soup, some Cincinnati chili, some chicken croquettes, and some sweet potato apple mash for upcoming meals this week…yay for bulk cooking!)

I remember seeing a recipe online about a year ago when I first started looking at paleo recipes.  The recipe was for some sort of soup with acorn squash and pears.  I didn’t write it down (which I’m now kicking myself over), but after becoming more comfortable with inventing my own soups–seriously, ANYTHING can be put into a soup–I decided to try my hand at throwing something together with all the stuff I picked out…and it turned out good!

A Bowl of Autumn

Serves 4-6

3 acorn squash, peeled and cubed

2 pears, peeled and coarsely chopped

2 Granny Smith apples, peeled and coarsely chopped

2 stalks of celery, chopped

1 large onion, chopped

2 Tbsp olive oil or melted butter/ghee

3 tsp poultry seasoning

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

4 C chicken broth

 

1.- Preheat oven to 375.

2.- Toss all vegetables, fruit, and spices in a large bowl with olive oil.  Put on rimmed baking sheet or in shallow roasting pan.

3.- Roast for 60-80 minutes, or until the acorn squash is tender.  Remove from oven and cool slightly.

4.- Process vegetable mixture with broth in batches until desired smoothness is reached.  Transfer to pot and heat through.  Garnish with fresh sage leaves or sprigs of thyme.

Leave a Reply

