Ginger Curry Chicken Croquettes (Whole30 Compliant)

Ginger Curry Chicken Croquettes

 

I love chicken croquettes; however, I generally only like the ones my mom makes.  All of the other chicken croquettes I’ve tasted since living at home just haven’t tasted the same.  That’s why I knew that even though I was craving some of Mom’s chicken croquettes, I shouldn’t try to replicate them in a paleo version.  I mean, come on, I could never even replicate them with the same ingredients…I’m not going to try with almond flour and tapioca starch!  That being said, the last time I made my favorite SALMON CAKES, I was thinking about ways to make chicken croquettes with a similar setup.

You could flavor these pretty much any way you want to–and tonight I decided that I felt like ginger and curry…so that’s what I did!  Depending on what seasonings you use, you might want to use white potato instead of sweet potato–just choose for yourselves!

 

Ginger Curry Chicken Croquettes

Serves 4

3 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded (you could also use ground chicken, uncooked)

1 C mashed sweet potato

1/2 C green onions, sliced

1/2 C almond flour

1 egg, whisked

1/2 C coconut milk

1 tsp curry powder

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

coconut oil

 

1.- In small bowl, whisk together egg, coconut milk, curry powder, ground ginger, salt, and pepper.

2.- In large bowl, mix chicken, sweet potato, almond flour, and green onions.  Mix well until everything is evenly incorporated.  Pour egg mixture into the bowl with the chicken mixture.  Mix well.  Chill for 10-15 minutes.

3.- Heat coconut oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Form chicken mixture into patties and put into the hot skillet, leaving at least an inch between each croquette.  Cook 4-5 minutes on the first side, flip, and cook 3-4 minutes on the second side.

*  As an aside, the thicker you make your patties, the longer they will take to heat through.  I made mine a little more than 1/2″ thick.

Leave a Reply

