Cowboy Stacker (Whole30 Compliant)

Cowboy Stacker

I have to laugh about how this dish came to be: last night while flipping through Pinterest, I saw no fewer than 10 different recipes for Eggs Benedict.  All the photos looked delicious!  Of course then I remembered three things:

(1.) I started a 30-day Primal cleanse on Saturday, so I can’t have English muffins…which are one of the best parts of the meal, IMHO.

(2.) I remembered that I’m always disappointed by hollandaise sauce…  I love the smell, the taste is good…but the aftertaste is just gross.  Always.  And everyone’s.  It makes me sad that this little hussy of a breakfast tasty always seduces me and then leaves me disappointed, but I digress.

(3.) I can’t poach eggs.  I can follow crazy directions to create some of the most amazing foods you’ve ever tasted, but I can’t poach a d@mn egg.  I’ve tried every “this is the easiest way” trick there is, and it just won’t happen.  If you can teach me, I will love you forever.

I wanted to recreate something similar to Eggs Benedict, but in a Primal fashion.  I  thought about using thick sweet potato slices for the “muffin” part, but I didn’t think I could get them the consistency that I wanted.  I thought about doing a friend egg instead of poached, but I thought it would look funny.  So the following is what I came up with…which is NOTHING like Eggs Benedict, by the way!

* As an aside, during a text message conversation about this dish tonight, I decided that these are the perfect size to set on top of a filet mignon…so do with that information what you will!

Cowboy Stackers

Serves 4

1 medium potato, shredded (sweet or white, doesn’t matter–I used white tonight because I ran out of sweet potatoes)

1 acorn squash, peeled, seeded, and shredded with the potato

1 Tbsp + 1 Tbsp Kerrygold butter

6-8 pieces of bacon, cooked to crispy and drained on paper towels

6-8 pieces of black forest ham (or anything other meat you’d like)

1 small shallot, diced

6 eggs, whisked with 4 Tbsp water

guacamole

For the potatoes:

1.- Preheat oven to 400.  Line a baking sheet with parchment and brush with your choice of liquid fat.

2.- In large skillet over medium-high heat, melt 1 Tbsp Kerrygold.  When hot, add shredded potatoes and acorn squash.  Cook until browning and starting to crisp.

3.- Using a large spoon, scoop spoonfuls onto the prepared baking sheet.  Flatten slightly into the shape of patties.  Bake 15 minutes, flip patties, and bake another 10 minutes.  Keep warm with foil-wrapped cooked bacon in 170 degree oven.

For the eggs (feel free to add any other vegetables you want to the scrambled eggs):

1.- In large skillet over medium heat, melt 1 Tbsp Kerrygold.  When hot, add shallots.  Saute until they start to soften.

2.- Add whisked egg mixture.  Cooked scrambled eggs as you normally would.  Season with very little salt and as much pepper as you want.  Remove from heat.

To assemble:

On individual plates, layer in the following order (from bottom to top):

1.- Hash brown patty

2.- 1-2 slices of black forest ham

3.- Scoop of scrambled eggs

4.- Scoop of guacamole

5.- 1-2 slices of bacon (it’s easiest if you break each slice in half)

 

Leave a Reply

