Pumpkin Spice “Granola” (Paleo)

Pumpkin-Spice Granola

I’ve been messing with this granola for three days, and I think I finally have it where I want it.  What did I find out?  Without using some oats or glue, there was no amount of smooshing that turned these into granola bars.  If you use oats in yours, you can likely get them to stick together better…but the lack of oats and the extreme humidity in San Antonio was working against me.  No skin off my back though…I just finished cooking it and tossed it in a bag.  Eat it anywhere, problem solved!

This is a pretty wet recipe, so unless you live in the desert (Santa Fe friends, perk up!), this probably won’t get crunchy.  This is relatively soft, but not mushy like oatmeal.  Oh…and it’s totally addictive.  Our house has smelled like pumpkin pie for the last three days, and I can’t complain.  Just wait until we get back and I use this as a topping for cooked apples!

Pumpkin Spice “Granola”

1/2 C raw honey

1/2 C Kerrygold (or coconut oil)

1/4 C nut butter (I used Sunflower butter)

1/3 C pureed pumpkin

1 tsp vanilla

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp cloves

pinch of salt

2 C shredded unsweetened coconut

1 C sliced almonds

1 C chopped walnuts or pecans

1 C chopped macadamia nuts

1/2 C dried cranberries or raisins

1.- Preheat oven to 300.  Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

2.- In large pot, melt honey, butter, and nut butter over low heat.  Stir until combined, add pumpkin, and mix well.  When everything is integrated, remove from heat.

3.- Stir in vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and salt.  Add all dry ingredients and stir until dry is coated with wet.  If it still seems too wet, add in more coconut and/or nuts until desired consistency is reached.  If it’s too wet, it’ll be a little soggy…so it’s better than it’s a bit too dry.

4.- Pour in single layer on baking sheet.  Bake…okay, I baked this twice, and it was in a deeper pan…so I’ll say just bake it.  Every 10-15 minutes, use a spatula to flip it and move it around.  When it gets to the desired doneness, take it out.  Simple as that.  I think mine baked for a total of about 45 minutes, but again, my pans were different because I tried to do bars first.

5.- Store in airtight container for 1 week, or freeze for up to a year.

* Tip: WATCH the nuts.  They will burn if you cook it too long and/or too hot.  If they’re starting to burn, turn the oven temp down to 275.

Leave a Reply

