Primal Bernadette (Primal)

Primal Bernadette

My Aunt Bernadette gave my mom this recipe for a chicken dish a long time ago, and growing up, we’ve always referred to it as Chicken Bernadette.  I never give out the recipe, but I’ve made it for pretty much every single person for whom I’ve ever cooked.  Apparently it has miraculous properties–or at the very least, it causes them to have spontaneous foodgasms or something.

Anyway, as you may recall from my last post, I’m on vacation this week.  We are currently in Arkansas, but tomorrow will be going to Kansas City (by way of Joplin).  I am DETERMINED to make this entire vacation primal-compliant so I don’t have to start my 30 days over when we get back!  Yes, even when we eat out, which is frequently.  It’s getting easier to order when we go out (the only thing is, there have been a couple times that I have had french fries…which really aren’t compliant…but they also aren’t *not* compliant.  I figure, as long as I’m not having them at 50% of my meals or more, I’m doing okay).  Toward the end of vacation, I’ll have a post with pictures of my eating out, primal-style…but until then, I have this.

Before we got to my brother and sister-in-law’s house yesterday, I had sent them a grocery list for everything I would make for dinner last night…so as soon as we got in, we started cooking!  I’m only going to post the recipe for the chicken on this post…there are tons of recipes for mashed cauliflower, so look one up and there ya go.  I don’t remember who my recipe came from, but it consists of chicken broth, cauliflower, and garlic.  The other side dish is green beans with sauteed garlic and chopped bacon.  Done.

Primal Bernadette

Serves 4-6

6 chicken breasts, pounded to 1/2″ thickness (each person will eat one, so take that into account when planning)

1 pkg full-fat organic cream cheese, softened

2 oz organic fine herb goat cheese, softened

2 tsp dried chives

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1 bunch asparagus

salt and pepper, to taste

1 Tbsp Kerrygold

1/2 C chicken broth (or white wine or pure apple juice)

1.- Let cream cheese and goat cheese soften in small bowl.  Add chives, basil, oregano, and black pepper.  Mash everything together with a fork until integrated.  Resist eating the whole bowl with nothing but your fingers.

2.- After pounding chicken breasts, salt and pepper both sides.  On the bottom side, spread 1/6 of cream cheese mixture (or however much comfortably fits).  Place two pieces of asparagus near one side and roll the chicken from the asparagus side to the other.  You basically end up with a chicken roulade.

3.- Heat Kerrygold in large pan over medium-high heat.  When hot, place chicken rolls into the pan.  Brown well on each side, using tongs to turn.  After all sides when been browned, pour liquid (broth/white wine/apple juice) into the bottom of the pan and immediately turn heat down to just below medium.

4.- Place lid on pan and allow liquid to simmer until the remainder of the chicken in cooked (10-20 minutes).  When chicken is done (165 internal temp), remove from pan and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

