A Primal Vacation

Okay…I managed to go on a 10-day vacation and stay compliant.  Yes, even in drive-thrus (that part involves a lot of boring, naked, grilled chicken and salad without dressing or fruit…but it can be done).  I didn’t take pictures of the fast food meals though.  They were too boring.  I took pictures of the food that I got at regular restaurants.

A caveat: if you are strictly Whole 30 or strictly Paleo, eating out will be harder.  Not impossible…but definitely harder than someone on a Primal diet.  So keep that in mind.

Texas Roadhouse

This was a meal from Texas Roadhouse (in Plano, TX).  It’s their 6 oz (I think it was 6) steak, medium rare, with steamed vegetables and a baked sweet potato.  I even managed to sit there in front of a basket of their rolls and homemade cinnamon butter without caving!

Pressroom

Breakfast at The Pressroom in Bentonville, AR.  Basically, deconstructed breakfast tacos.  Scrambled eggs, salsa, cilantro, sliced avocado, and a bowl of chorizo (I normally don’t like chorizo; however, this was delicious).  Breakfast seems to be the easiest meal to find while at a restaurant.  Every place that serves breakfast has eggs, meat, and vegetables.  Done.

Taziki

A lamb salad plate from Taziki’s in Bentonville, AR.  The lamb on this salad was DELICIOUS.  The nuts were a great addition, as was the feta.  Even if I weren’t eating a primal diet, I would eat this salad for every meal of every day.

El Charro

A Mexican salad from El Charro’s in Joplin, MO.  I have been to this restaurant probably 500 times between when I was 12 and now.  I have only ever gotten one thing here: the chimichanga.  It is a delicious deep-fried, tortilla-wrapped, meaty piece of goodness, covered in a white cheese sauce and served with beans and rice.  This is the first time I got anything else.  It was really good!

Applebees

This is one of the sizzling Bourbon Street something-or-others from Applebees in KC, MO.  It was decent.  It wasn’t the most delicious thing I’ve ever eaten, but it got the job done.  Protein + fat + veg = a happy person.

Tassos

Finally, the Gyro Salad from Tasso’s in KC, MO.  I usually get the gyros here (we visit Tasso’s every time we visit KC…but it’s because of the belly dancer, not because of the food), but the salad was actually quite good.  It definitely made for a very happy tummy (more happy than when I used to have the regular gyros).

So that’s my 10 days in a very small nutshell.  We didn’t eat every meal out, so these pictures are most of the restaurant meals that I had.  We just got home tonight, and I’m super excited to get back to cooking at home.  This week has a lineup of things like goat, lamb, and beef!  Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

