Teriyaki Beef Stir Fry (Whole 30 Compliant)

Beef Teriyaki

I’m down to the slim pickings of my meat.  I need to place an order with our farmer soon so I can get some more stuff in!  Although I’m excited for something up on this week’s menu (possibly tomorrow): Gyro Taco Salad with Tzatziki Guacamole (I can’t remember where I got that recipe, but it must have sounded really good because I actually wrote the whole thing down).  Most of the time when I see a recipe that looks interesting, I don’t really write it down (unless it looks REALLY good).  I’ll write down the basic flavor profile and then take it home to figure out how I can make something with those flavors.  It usually turns out pretty well; however, occasionally it bombs.  We usually go out to eat on those nights.

Today I just threw something together with what I had.  I had some beef kabob meat, some pineapple, and I scored some great looking zucchini at the farmer’s market this morning…so, voila!  Teriyaki stir fry!

Teriyaki Beef Stir Fry (Whole 30)

Serves 2-4

1 pound beef kabob meat

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 Tbsp ginger, minced

1 tsp toasted sesame oil

1/3 C coconut aminos

1/4 C fresh-squeezed orange juice (this was one large orange for me)

1/4 C water

2 Tbsp raw honey

1 zucchini, roughly chopped

1 C chopped pineapple

1/4 C green onion, thinly sliced

 

1.- In a small bowl, whisk garlic, ginger, sesame oil, coconut aminos, orange juice, water, and honey.  Put beef in resealable plastic bag and pour sauce in.  Seal bag and flip it around to coat the meat.

2.- Place in refrigerator, turning occasionally, and marinate for at least 8 hours.

3.- Heat large skillet over medium-high heat.  When hot, cook meat until desired doneness is reached (or slightly under, you’ll be putting it back in the pan for a minute or two at the end).  Put meat in bowl and set aside.

4.- Turn heat down to medium and add zucchini.  Saute until soft, but not mushy.  Add pineapple and cook just 30 second to a minute to give it some color.  Add the beef back into the pan and toss everything to combine.  Serve immediately, topped with sliced green onions.

 

Leave a Reply

