Twice-Baked Breakfast (Primal)

Twice-Baked Breakfast

I don’t make white potatoes very often, but I was really in the mood for a baked potato when I went grocery shopping this week.  When I started washing the potato yesterday, I decided that what I really wanted was a twice-baked potato…and an egg…and bacon.  Okay, I was pretty hungry.  Not surprisingly, this was the only meal I had yesterday LOL!  You know how many paleo and primal experts talk about how the more fat you eat, the longer you stay satisfied?  Yeah, I’ve reached that point.  Can’t say it sucks–I have a lot more free time when I’m not chained to the kitchen.

And I mean that in an “I normally cook all freaking day” way, not in an “I’m a woman, therefor I stay in the kitchen where the menfolk have chained me” kind of way.

Just wanted to clear that up.

Twice-Baked Breakfast

Serves 4

2 baking potatoes

3 slices of bacon, cooked to crispy and reserve drippings

2 Tbsp Kerrygold butter

1/2 C shredded cheese

1 Tbsp heavy cream

1 scallion, sliced thin

1/2 tsp parsley

salt and pepper

2 eggs

 

1.- Preheat oven to 375.  Line baking sheet.  Use fork to pierce potatoes in 6-7 spots and put on microwave-safe plate.  Cook potatoes in microwave (about 8-10 minutes, depending on potato size).

2.- Cut one slice of bacon in half.  Roughly chop the other two slices of bacon and set aside.

3.- Cut about 1/4″ off the top of each potato.  Scoop the flesh into a bowl, leaving about a 1/4″ shell (give or take).  Add Kerrygold and 1 Tbsp of reserved bacon drippings to the bowl and mash the potato flesh.  Stir in cheese, scallions, chopped bacon, parsley, salt, and pepper.

4.- Using a little more salt and pepper, season the inside of the potato shells.  Lightly brush the outside of the potato skins with remaining reserved bacon drippings.  Divide the mashed potato filling between the two shells, being careful not to overfill.  Press a spoon down the length of the potato, creating as large of a well as possible.  Put potatoes on lined baking sheet.

5.- Inside each well, crack and egg.  It’s okay if the egg overflows a little.  Bake 20-25 minutes (until egg whites set and desired doneness is reached).  Season with salt and pepper, and serve topped with scallions and half of a bacon slice.

Leave a Reply

