Spiced Almond Butter Cookies (Paleo) and Mint Cream (Primal)

Spiced Almond Butter Cookies

I talk to my grandma almost every day.  Every day she tells me everything she’s had to eat for the last five days.  There’s a lot of overlap…obviously.  No matter how I explain it, she just doesn’t understand the whole paleo thing.  She’s into the “I eat whatever I want, whenever I want, and I do fine” thing.  I’ve just decided that explaining anything to her about our dietary guidelines is a lost cause, and I’ve just started telling her that I have a mild allergy to the avoided food groups.

Anyway, she has this recipe that she tells me about at least three times a week: flourless peanut butter cookies.  They sound really good…however two of the people in my house actually are allergic to peanuts (like the real kind of allergic…not the kind I tell to Grandma LOL).  I decided to try them out with almond butter, coconut sugar, and a bit of nutmeg.  They actually taste closer to a really mild ginger cookie, but they remain super soft, even once cooled.  The whipped cream can be made with or without the peppermint; however, just a bit of extract really solidifies that “holiday” flavor.

Spiced Almond Butter Cookies (Paleo)

1 C almond butter (I use the no-stir kind)

1/2 – 1 C coconut sugar (start with 1/2 C and work your way up if necessary)

1 egg

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp (slightly heaping) ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp vanilla

 

1.- Preheat oven to 350.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

2.- In large bowl, mix all ingredients with mixer (remember to start with 1/2 C coconut sugar and work your way up if needed).  Roll batter into small balls and lay out on parchment lined sheet.  Press each dough balls with the tines of a fork to slightly flatten and leave a striped impression in the dough.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  Cookies will be very soft when the come out of the oven–they will set up in 10 minutes or so.

 

Mint Cream (Primal)

2 C heavy whipping cream

1 Tbsp maple syrup

2-3 drops of peppermint extract (do not overuse–peppermint extract is incredibly strong)

1.- Pour heavy cream in large bowl.  With whisk attachment on a hand mixer (or a stand mixer), whip cream until soft peaks form.

2.- Add maple syrup and extract if using.  Mix another minute or two (until the cream reaches desired consistency).  Serve on top of cookies.

One thought on “Spiced Almond Butter Cookies (Paleo) and Mint Cream (Primal)

Leave a Reply

