Ginger Lime Chicken (Whole30 Compliant)

Ginger Lime Chicken

I felt like making chicken yesterday; however, I wanted something that I don’t usually make, something with a little kick to it, and something with a flavor profile that I don’t typically use.  What can I say?  Sometimes you just want to make something that tastes totally different from what you’re used to.  When I looked up different flavor profiles, I found one that I thought would go well with chicken thighs…so I decided to try it.  For the cook, I just did a basic quick broil–maximum heat, maximum moisture retention, minimum time investment.

I prepped these around 9:00 yesterday morning, covered them in plastic wrap, and cooked them around 6:00 last night.  The acid from the lime penetrated just enough of the muscle in that amount of time that by the time I cooked them and we ate, the meat was just falling apart in my mouth.  So.  Good.

 

Ginger Lime Chicken (Whole30 Compliant)

Serves 3-4

6-8 boneless skinless chicken thighs (or get bone-in, remove the skin, and watch the cook)

1/4 C finely chopped green onions

2″ knob of ginger, finely diced (about a heaping Tbsp)

2 Tbsp Kerrygold butter, melted

Juice of 2 limes

Zest of 2 limes

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground pepper

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cayenne

1.- Pat chicken dry.  Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and grease with coconut oil, shortening, or whatever compliant spray you use.  Place chicken thighs on the sheet.

2.- In a small bowl, mix green onions, ginger, melted fat, lime zest, lime juice, cinnamon, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and cayenne.  Brush chicken with this mixture, coating evenly.  If chilling, cover with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator.

3.- Preheat the broiler to high.  Broil for 15-25 minutes, or until the internal temperature reaches 165.

Leave a Reply

