Spiced Oven-Baked Pork Ribs (Whole30 Compliant)

Baked Pork Ribs

 

I’ve made pork ribs many ways; however, my favorites always seem to be of the oven-baked variety.  Being from Kansas City, I LOVE me some barbecue.  Really for real in real life…it holds its own level on the food pyramid there.  Not so coincidentally, that is why no one in any other part of the country will ever convince me that their barbecue is better.  Not Texas, not the Carolinas, not anywhere.  Let’s just all agree that Kansas City barbecue is the best, m’kay?  😉

This is something that resembles Kansas City barbecue sans sauce.  I have made sauce for us to use, and occasionally I use it…but I clean up so many messes during the day with a toddler that I don’t feel like adding barbecue sauce to that long list.  I’d rather spend my nine seconds of free time per night cultivating my relationship with Netflix or actually having a conversation with the husband that doesn’t involve the words “potty,” “diaper,” or “Mommy, where did your penis go?”  (I know I’m not the only mother of a little boy to have to answer this question.  Frequently.  While I’m trying to pee without an audience.

I digress.  The ribs this night were particularly good, if not with a bit of a kick.  I added some lime juice right before baking this time and it gave it just the right amount of bite.  Enjoy!

Spiced Oven-Baked Pork Ribs (Whole30 Compliant)

2-3 pounds of pork ribs (I used country-style ribs)

1 Tbsp sea salt

1 Tbsp paprika

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 Tbsp onion powder

1 Tbsp chili powder

2 tsp black pepper

2 tsp cumin

2 tsp turmeric

1 tsp basil

1 tsp ground rosemary

1 tsp thyme

2 tsp cayenne

1 large onion, cut in large wedges.

juice of 1 lime

1.- Mix all spices and seasonings together in small bowl.  This will make about a half of a cup of spice blend.  I used about half of it for 2 pounds of ribs and saved the rest in a clean jar.

2.- Preheat oven to 250.  Cover bottom of baking dish or small roasting pan with onion wedges.  Rub both sides of ribs with spice blend and place directly on top of onion wedges.  Pour a little of the lime juice on each rib.

3.- Bake 2-3 hours, depending on total weight (until internal temperature is 145 degrees).  Let ribs rest at least 5 minutes–preferably 10-15–before serving.

Leave a Reply

