Island Dover Sole (Whole30 Compliant…mostly)

Island Dover Sole

It’s dover sole season, y’all!  At least at HEB, that means tons of wild-caught dover sole on the cheap.  And you know how much I love stuff on the cheap!  So how excited was I when I did the shopping this week and found it for right around $5 a pound?  This is one of my favorite fish to eat; however, I’d never cooked it before.  Part of the fun that Isak and I have in the grocery store is picking out an item that we either (a) haven’t tried before, or (b) I haven’t cooked before.  We get it, I look it up at home, and this is how some of my recipes are born.

I felt like making it a little spicy with a slightly fruity island-flavored sauce.  So, what did I have lying around?  Dijon, oranges, white wine…done.  This dish, from start to finish, took about 12 minutes–17 if you count heating the pan.  I’m not sure you can get much faster than that.  I am guessing that you could also make this same dish with with any number of mild-flavored fish, so if you don’t have access to good dover sole wherever you live, you can just pic another fish!  Just make sure that if it’s a thicker fish, you appropriately change the actual cooking time of the fish.

* The only thing that is borderline in this recipe is the white wine.  Here’s how I figure it–there is only 1/4 C in the whole recipe, the alcohol cooks out, and you’re left with very little sugar…so for me, I’m not splitting hairs over the 1/4 C.  If you aren’t comfortable with that, use chicken broth instead of wine.  You won’t get the exact same taste, but it’s an okay substitute for the most part.

Island Dover Sole (Whole30 Compliant)

1 pound dover sole fillets

Old Bay seasoning

Salt and pepper

Coconut oil

Juice of 3-4 large oranges (this will be 4-6 ounces of juice)

1/4 C dry white wine (or extra chicken stock)

1/4 C chicken stock

2 tsp Dijon mustard

2 Tbsp Kerrygold butter

 

1.- Heat coconut oil in large skillet over medium-high heat.  Pat fish dry and sprinkle both sides with salt and pepper.  Liberally sprinkle Old Bay seasoning on both sides of fish.

2.- Add fish to pan and cook about 2-ish minutes on each side, depending on how thick your fillets are.  Don’t overcook–you want them to be a little crispy around the edges, but not tough in the middle.  Remove to plate and tent with foil.

3.- Drain excess oil and return pain to heat.  Add orange juice and deglaze pan, scraping up the brown bits.  Add white win, chicken stock, and Dijon, whisking until mustard is integrated.  Allow liquid to reduce by half (about 3-4 minutes).  Remove from heat and add butter.  Whisk until butter is melted and the sauce is smooth and shiny.  Spoon over fish and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

