Baked Chicken with Creamy Sun-Dried Tomatoes (Primal)

Chicken with Sundried Tomato Cream Sauce

This is a recipe that was destined to turn out yummy.  Well, either delicious or a total bomb.  Why?  Because while cooking this dish, I was talking on the phone with my best friend, Lena, as I often do.  During the cooking process, while talking, I dropped my phone into the cream sauce, as I was cooking it on the stove.  Most of you know how hot a cast iron skillet gets…yeah…so iPhone + hot cast iron skillet = doesn’t work out so well.  To be fair, everything on the phone worked after I dropped the phone into the sauce…except for one thing: when I was holding the phone to my ear to talk, no one could hear me.  The audio on my videos worked, FaceTime worked, Voxer worked, even speaker phone worked…but the microphone did not work when I talked on the phone in basically the only way that I ever use the phone.

So I upgraded to an iPhone 6+ (they are worth every penny, for those of you keeping score).  Fortunately, the camera on my phone also worked, so I was able to take a picture of the meal!  And for those of you playing the home game, my pictures may be getting better now (after I catch up on my backlog of a few recipes).  From what I can tell on my phone screen, the camera on the 6+ is waaaaaaaaay better than the 5C.  Yay for new techie toys!

Baked Chicken with Creamy Sun-Dried Tomatoes (Primal)

Serves 2-4

4-6 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs

salt and pepper

1/8-1/4 tsp onion powder

2 Tbsp Kerrygold, divided

4 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

1 C chicken broth

1/2 C coconut milk

1/2 C julienne-cut sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil, drained

1/2 C grated Parmesan

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp dried basil

1/2 tsp dried oregano

 

1.- Preheat oven to 400.  In small bowl, mix salt, pepper, and onion powder (about 1/4 tsp each of salt and pepper).  Season chicken thighs on each side.

2.- In large oven-proof skillet, melt 1 Tbsp butter over medium-high heat.  Add chicken, skin-side down.  Cook until golden brown on both sides (about 3-4 minutes per side).  Remove chicken to plate and add remaining butter to skillet.

3.- When butter is melted, add garlic and red pepper flakes, cooking until fragrant (about 10-15 seconds–don’t burn the garlic).  Add broth, coconut milk, sun-dried tomatoes, Parmesan, thyme, basil, and oregano.  Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer 4-6 minutes (sauce will slightly thicken).  Return chicken to skillet and spoon sauce over top a few times.

4.- Place entire skillet into oven and cook 25-35 minutes (until internal chicken temp is 175).  Serve immediately, garnished with grated Parmesan if desired.

 

Leave a Reply

