Braised Beef (Whole30 Compliant)

Slow-Braised Beef

When I was talking to a friend the other day, she asked about how to make a basic braised beef dish.  I went to point her to a recipe on here and realized that I don’t have a recipe on here for that!  That somewhat shocked me, as I make braised beef (or pot roast, when I add a ton more vegetables) pretty frequently.  How could I have missed putting it up on here?  I’ll tell you how:

I’ve never written down the recipe.

Well, until now.  When I usually make it, I just dump whatever into the slow cooker, set it on low, and go about my day.  I rarely make it the same way twice (probably because I’ve never written down what I usually put in it), so the taste changes slightly each time.  Sometimes I use wine, sometimes I use coconut milk, sometimes I just chop up every vegetable in the fridge and dump it in.  That means one thing: it’s pretty versatile.  You can literally add whatever you want (within reason) to this dish.  Whatever goes with it, that is.  Don’t add Twinkies or Hershey’s syrup…just don’t.  If you do, I’ll be forced to nominate you for that show on Food Network, “Worst Cooks in America.”  You know, the one that had the lady who put vanilla in everything.  Yes, that includes fried chicken.

Color me gagging.

Braised Beef (Whole30 Compliant)

Serves 4-6

2 pounds beef stew meat

1/2 C tapioca or arrowroot starch

1 Tbsp coconut oil

1 onion, roughly chopped

6-8 C beef BONE BROTH (or beef broth, but you’re totally missing out if you haven’t jumped the bone broth train)

1 bay leaf

salt and pepper

 

1.- Mix Arrowroot (or tapioca) starch with salt and pepper in a large resealable bag.  Add stew meat and shake to coat.

2.- Heat coconut oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  When oil is hot, add beef in small batches and brown for a few minutes.  Do not overcrowd the pan–you want to brown the meat, not steam it.

3.- Once browned, add meat to slow cooker.  Turn pan heat down to medium and add onions.  Saute for just a couple minutes and then add to slow cooker.

4.- Over meat and onions, add bone broth (enough to basically cover the meat) and bay leaf.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 4-5 hours (I prefer cooking this on low–the meat comes out more tender).

* At this meal, the meat (with a little broth) was served over a mash that was a mixture of cooked potato, parsnip, cauliflower, and garlic–of course mixed with some delicious Kerrygold butter!

Leave a Reply

